Star Wars, Ralph McQuarrie Remembered

Original Star Wars concept artist, Ralph McQuarrie, was a visionary and inspired many.

When I was very young, my mother introduced me to the star wars phenomenon, and all its ground breaking work in the film industry. I feel so many great creatives and amazing film making techniques came out of the trilogy (I’m only counting the first three movies that came out). All three of those movies go down in history as some of the best movies ever made, some even broached the top ten list of the AFI’s 100 Years…100 Movies which is determined by the American Film Institute. Obviously there are many amazing movies on that list, but these three were groundbreaking in their own way. They had scours of talented artists, musicians, editors, etc pour their heart and soul into them.


It all started with this man, Ralph McQuarrie. George Lucas himself admits that the story of star wars was so unique at the time, it would have never been produced without the beautiful conceptualization and artistic vision of Ralph McQuarrie. George Lucas’ entire presentation to the big production houses were really only relying on a dozen or so colorful drawings showing the world, its characters, the theme, and the general style of the story.

In the 7th issue of Starlog magazine, which came out in August 1977, the featured article was entitled “Preview of the Spectacular New Science Fiction Movie: Star Wars”. The article shows many behind the scenes photos of the movie and a few choice concept works by Ralph McQuarrie. Pictured in the first image of the gallery below is his Sandcrawler artwork. The article mentions, “the Sandcrawler is truly awe-inspiring in its conception. Not only couldn’t the whole thing be built, but the miniature stands four stories tall”.

So, rest in peace Ralph McQuarrie, your presence will be sorely missed.


15 Comments on “Star Wars, Ralph McQuarrie Remembered”

  1. Brad Quam says:

    I genuinely value your work , Great post.

  2. Very interesting points you have noted, appreciate it for putting up.

  3. Only wanna input on few general things, The website style is perfect, the written content is really good : D.

  4. seo services says:

    Excellent weblog! Do you have any methods for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own, personal site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a totally free platform like Wp or go for a paid out option? There are so many alternatives out there that I’m totally confused. Any recommendations? Many thanks!

  5. Hi, just wanted to say, I enjoyed this post. It was helpful. Keep on posting!

  6. yeah bookmaking this wasn’t a high risk decision outstanding post! .

  7. Rafael says:

    Real nice style and design and good content material, hardly anything else we need :D.

  8. Daniel Picot says:

    its great as your other content : D, appreciate it for posting .

  9. Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?

  10. Hey there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one? Thanks a lot!

  11. Tragamonedas says:

    Thanks for the writeup. I definitely agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my mother so hopefully this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

  12. Hello there, You have done a fantastic job. I will definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I am confident they will be benefited from this web site.

  13. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot
    about this, like you wrote the book in it or
    something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home
    a little bit, but other than that, this is excellent blog.
    An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

  14. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward
    this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.

    Many thanks for sharing!


Leave a comment