The Beauty That Sleeps – Peacock Painting

“The Beauty That Sleeps” – Vertical Design of Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

“The Beauty That Sleeps” – Vertical Design of Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Finally finished. I’ve been working on and off on my peacock painting for almost a year, but decided in the last week to push to complete it. I started this work as more of a challenge than anything else. I wanted to challenge what I could technically do in Photoshop. This is easily the most detailed piece I’ve ever worked on. I found the that the feathery tail took me the longest to finish, but the neck and head was the most difficult to conceptualize. The angle and perspective made it quite challenging. With every piece I learn a lot about my subject matter. Peacocks are breathtakingly beautiful, and I wanted to know much more about them. I didn’t necessarily aim for the image to be photo realistic, but I found myself getting immersed in the minute details. I wanted to draw every strand of every feather, and believe me there were a lot of feathers in the piece, probably in the tens of thousands. I was starting to see feathers in my sleep!

Crop 1 - "The Beauty That Sleeps" - Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Crop 1 – “The Beauty That Sleeps” – Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Crop 2 - "The Beauty That Sleeps" - Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Crop 2 – “The Beauty That Sleeps” – Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Crop 3 - "The Beauty That Sleeps" - Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Crop 3 – “The Beauty That Sleeps” – Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Crop 4 - "The Beauty That Sleeps" - Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Crop 4 – “The Beauty That Sleeps” – Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Crop 5 - "The Beauty That Sleeps" - Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Crop 5 – “The Beauty That Sleeps” – Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Crop 6 - "The Beauty That Sleeps" - Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Crop 6 – “The Beauty That Sleeps” – Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

"The Beauty That Sleeps" iphone case design by Nicole Barker

“The Beauty That Sleeps” iphone case design by Nicole Barker

"The Beauty That Sleeps" laptop skin design by Nicole Barker

“The Beauty That Sleeps” laptop skin design by Nicole Barker

"The Beauty That Sleeps" greeting card design by Nicole Barker

“The Beauty That Sleeps” greeting card design by Nicole Barker

"The Beauty That Sleeps" - Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

“The Beauty That Sleeps” – Peacock Painting by Nicole Barker

Shop art prints, stretched canvases, laptop skins, and iphone & ipad cases of this artwork

Related articles:
Melting Peacock Feather – Concept Painting

27 Comments on “The Beauty That Sleeps – Peacock Painting”

  1. maureen cleary says:

    this is an outstanding piece of your work

  2. Marianne says:

    Very beautiful! All you youngins’ and your knowledge of photoshop. It’s amazing what can be done with it.

    • nmbpro says:

      lol thanks. Photoshop can be a really great tool for artists. I used to love doing oil paintings, but in a small apartment, it is just not practical. Digitally painting in Photoshop makes the cleanup much easier.

  3. violetski says:

    Amazing! Such a beautiful work.

  4. Studio Ten Four says:

    That is insane…in a good way.

  5. drawingpins says:

    What a beautiful piece. The feathers are spectacular. So glad to have seen your work. Thanks you for visiting and liking Drawing Pins.

  6. putneyfarm says:

    Beautiful work! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Su says:

    This is really fantastic, I hadn’t been on your blog in a while and saw this today and had to comment…I hope one day I can be as skilled as you. The colors alone are amazing, but the details you put in….MAGIC!! I would have this on my wall for sure.

    • nmbpro says:

      Thank you so much for visiting and commenting. I love to hear feedback, and you gave such positive feedback at that! I’m at a loss for words, but at least I can say thank you :)

      • Su says:

        You’re welcome! Seriously, I love your work, and I don’t say that readily to many people. You have really captured the spirit of these birds, I grew up with peacocks and they are calm and peaceful…. I often saw them doing this pose exactly…It’s funny because i’ve never seen a peacock picture where this was the pose but i’ve seen it in reality, so I felt like it was really unique.

        • nmbpro says:

          Wow, well that’s awesome, thanks. I think they are such beautiful creatures, and I certainly know more about them after this drawing, but I’ve never seen one in person in my life. It is such a huge compliment that you, having seen them, feel I have captured their spirit perfectly. Drawing one in this pose was certainly difficult, but I’m glad you feel my hard-work was worth it.

  8. […] articles: The Beauty That Sleeps – Peacock Painting Click to Share:Like this:Like6 bloggers like […]

  9. […] across all posts. My most liked post was The Beauty That Sleeps – Peacock Painting […]

  10. Kattie says:

    It’s remarkable for me to have a web site, which is useful for my know-how. thanks admin

  11. Wiley says:

    Hello all, here every person is sharing such knowledge, thus it’s pleasant to read this web site, and I used to pay a quick visit this webpage daily.

  12. May I just say what a comfort to uncover someone who actually
    understands what they’re talking about over the internet. You actually know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. A lot more people must read this and understand this side of the story. It’s surprising you are not more popular because
    you most certainly have the gift.

  13. View says:

    Remarkable! Its really amazing piece of writing, I
    have got much clear idea regarding from this paragraph.

  14. Ɗo you hae a spam issue on this ѕite; I also am a blogger,
    and I waaѕ wondering your situation; we Һave developed some nicе procedures
    and we are looking to trade solutions with others, pleɑse shߋit me an e-mail iif interested.

  15. Luella says:

    What’s up, yes this paragraph is really nice and I have learned
    lot of things from it concerning blogging. thanks.


Leave a Reply

