Back To The Roots – Colored Pencil Drawings From My Past

Pulling You In - Colored Pencil Drawing by Nicole Cleary

Pulling You In – Colored Pencil Drawing by Nicole Cleary

Coming back to the roots of where I started in my art career, I decided to show some older pieces I created with traditional media. My professors described my art style in college as “painting with colored pencils”. I’d pull out my 250+ PrismaColor pencils set and disappear for hours, coming back with hand-cramps, the stubs of what used to be colored pencils, and a smile on my face. I would use extremely thin solid lines and a plethora of bright, saturated colors to create each artwork. Towards the end of each piece, I would go over the sketchy colored pencil with a white (or neutral colored pencil for the background) coloring over every line to blend the colors together. Each PrismaColor set came with a smudge stick for this very intention, but I hated the effect the smudge stick created. It was too wide and blurred all the lines instead of mixing the colors on the paper in specific areas. Using a thin tipped colored pencil allowed me to keep the crisp edges I wanted in some sections while blurring the colors in other sections. I found that when I moved to digital art with my Intous 4 Wacom tablet, the essence of my style remained.

Water Over The Bridge - Colored Pencil Drawing by Nicole Cleary

Water Over The Bridge – Colored Pencil Drawing by Nicole Cleary

Pulling You In - Colored Pencil Drawing - crop 1 by Nicole Cleary

Pulling You In – Colored Pencil Drawing – crop 1 by Nicole Cleary

Pulling You In - Colored Pencil Drawing - crop 2 by Nicole Cleary

Pulling You In – Colored Pencil Drawing – crop 2 by Nicole Cleary

Water Over The Bridge - Colored Pencil Drawing - crop 1 by Nicole Barker

Water Over The Bridge – Colored Pencil Drawing – crop 1 by Nicole Cleary

Water Over The Bridge - Colored Pencil Drawing - crop 2 by Nicole Barker

Water Over The Bridge – Colored Pencil Drawing – crop 2 by Nicole Cleary

Both of these pieces were done in 2005. Looking back, I find my work had a somewhat sinister quality under-toning the polished and bright look on the surface.

'Water Over The Bridge" Print by Nicole Cleary

“Water Over The Bridge”
Print by Nicole Cleary

"Pulling You In" Print by Nicole Cleary

“Pulling You In”
Print by Nicole Cleary

Water over the Bridge – Click to shop prints, stretched canvases, laptop skins, iphone and ipod cases of this artwork.

Pulling You In – Click to shop prints, stretched canvases, laptop skins, iphone and ipod cases of this artwork.

4 Comments on “Back To The Roots – Colored Pencil Drawings From My Past”

  1. Dana says:

    oh just beautiful :D

  2. […] Back To The Roots – Colored Pencil Drawings From My Past (nmbdesigner.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterPinterestFacebookLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Posted in Education, Experimental Art […]


Leave a Reply

