Updated Self-Portrait Painting

self portrait painting (updated) by Nicole Barker

self portrait painting (updated) by Nicole Barker

I recently updated my self-portrait painting based on feedback I had gotten from multiple art websites (behance, deviantart, and Creattica) as well critiques I received from trusted friends. The most notable changes are the shadowing around the nose and the shadowing/texturing on the neck. Below is an example of the before and after.

Self-Portrait by NicoleBarker - Before And After

As always, feedback is very much appreciated.

8 Comments on “Updated Self-Portrait Painting”

  1. sirselah says:

    Woah, that took me a second to realize that was the painting and not a photo. Probably would’ve taken longer if it wasn’t for the title ha ha.

    • nmbpro says:

      lol thanks. This one was definitely a labor of love, and I’m always willing to go back and make changes if I feel it will improve the overall look of the artwork.

  2. Sophy says:

    Very nice, I like the changes. It’s so easy to make skin look a bit “dirty” unintentionally, but the result after editing is really nice!

    • nmbpro says:

      Thanks for the feedback! I agree, it’s very easy to make an image look washed out and grey when painting shadows and highlights, even when painting in photoshop. I think the skin around my neck looks much more lively now, as well as being a more accurate portrayal.

  3. kathsartcorner says:

    Truly beautiful.


Leave a Reply

