Seed – photoshop time-lapse drawing

I have to admit, I have stopped myself creating more times than I care to count. Its not healthy. I believe I’ve developed too much of an expectation for how a sketch is suppose to look when finished. I don’t sketch often enough, and because of that I haven’t had a lot of work that’s just experimenting. How can one create something perfect every time? One cannot. Every sketch will hone your skill and make you ready for a potential masterpiece. I feel the video I created above is a break-through in my own experimentation.

No artist was born a master, anymore than any painting began as a masterpiece. Maybe an artist’s different pieces become one master work to be combined after years and years of deliberation like in the “Gates Of Hell” by Rodin. There can be a small difference from making something that’s just nice, to making something that is truly creative. I found this post, titled “John Steinbeck Six Tips On Writing” about writing very helpful. It made me think about gaining a different perspective on my illustrations. Even though the post is referring to writing, almost every one of those tips could be applied to any art form. For example, “If a scene or a section gets the better of you and you still think you want it—bypass it and go on. When you have finished the whole you can come back to it and then you may find that the reason it gave trouble is because it didn’t belong there.” – John Steinbeck

Anyone can go to school for drawing, but not everyone is going to come out as an artist, and to go even further, many skilled artists never attend a formal education. Drawing could be just a skill you have, a love you return to for solace and relaxation, a temporary job, or your full-career. But any way you look at it, you wont hinder yourself by sketching more.

Something else I fear of constantly is ruining my own work. I’ve seen great pieces ruined by a few quick changes at the end of the day. Do what feels right to you. If your worried about ruining a piece you’ve created, it may be because its just right the way it is.

Seed - photoshop drawing by Nicole Barker

Seed - photoshop drawing by Nicole Barker

Shop art prints, stretched canvases, iPhone & iPod cases of this work

8 Comments on “Seed – photoshop time-lapse drawing”

  1. how to study says:

    I reckon something genuinely interesting about your site so I saved to fav.

  2. Its wonderful as your other content : D, thanks for putting up.

  3. jnizzie says:

    Beautiful! I loved your time lapse sketch and your thoughts on creating really struck a chord with me. Like you if I could, I would create all day.

    • nmbpro says:

      Wow, thanks for your kind words. I wanted to share my findings in the hopes that other artists realize they should not get discouraged.

  4. I’m still learning from you, but I’m making my way to the top as well. I certainly love reading everything that is written on your blog.Keep the aarticles coming. I enjoyed it!

  5. Rene Bunn says:

    I simply want to say I’m all new to weblog and certainly savored you’re web blog. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You really have good writings. Kudos for sharing with us your website.

  6. harmon green says:

    Whispering Misty

    So sorry you can skip the workshop!


Leave a Reply

